Great Stuff You Missed – August 16 Round Up


It’s not easy to keep track with music news especially when you make yourself a busy bunny, so we check it all out regularly and make a selective list of the new stuff that you could most likely be into. That’s the great stuff you missed!


1. Joyce Manor unveil new song / announce new album

Joyce Manor will be releasing a new album ‘Cody’ on October 7th, through Epitaph Records. And in the meantime, we’ll let you discover the new track Fake ID. Don’t hesitate to order the new record, right here.

2. Natives (new video + Mothxr support slots)

These guys had been silent for a while, but this summer, Natives have released a new music video for their song Stop The Rain. Filmed in Morocco, this new video is a way for them to share a message of positivity and mixing with other cultures as opposite to the whole negativity that’s been floating in the world recently:

“Our love for percussion led us to Morocco, a muslim country where the Arabic East meets sub-Saharan Africa. We instantly fell in love with the rhythm of the place, from the main squares to the mountains, everything had a beat. We met Berbers in Agadir, where drumming circles are a part of everyday social life and were captivated by the way rhythm was used to bring people together and tell stories. This idea, coupled with the welcoming warmth of the culture formed the heart and soul of Stop The Rain.”

If you’ve been wondering what’s new in the Natives‘ camp, you might want to know that the band will be embarking on a UK run, supporting the New Yorkers in MOTHXR next September.


3. Leatherneck drop new EP ‘Lighting Up The Tilt Sign’

In their own words : “Lighting Up The Tilt Sign’ is when we were finding our feet and direction, so within these changes came the uncertainty of being in an unfamiliar place. The songs represent these themes for us pretty well”. It’s kind of grungy and kind of melancholic at the same time, but you should listen to it and make your own mind! 

4. Ourlives- Higher Hopes (B-sides album)

Icelandic indie rock band Ourlives have just released an album which consists in a collection of B-side tracks and we strongly recommend you to check it out! ‘”Higher Hopes” is a lighthearted view of the Icelandic summer from a rather negative perspective. Me and Leifur were downtown in Reykjavik and the midnight sun was being weird, like it usually is here in Iceland, when we got the idea for the song”, says Bassist/vocalist Jón Björn Árnason.


5. FOES announce new album

And another record to be dropped on October 7th is FOES‘ debut album ‘The Summit Lies Skyward’. This album will include already released singles Beautiful Fiction, The Everest and their latest single Young Sovereign. The album will be released through Basick Records. and you can already pre-ordered it here.

6.  Black Foxxes – Whatever Lets You Cope

The three UK dreamers Black Foxxes will fascinate you with their new video for the single Whatever Lets You Cope. This track is taken from their upcoming debut album ‘I’m Not Well’, out in a few days (August 19th) which we have no doubt, will be massive. EDIT : Hear the album streaming in full and exclusively on The Independent right now.


7. FAUX release new EP ‘Inhale’

Southampton’s very own Faux have just released a ridiculously good EP. ‘Inhale’ is heartfelt and beautiful. Spend some time with it.


8. Lonely The Brave – Dust & Bones (live at The Glasshouse)

Lonely The Brave have a lot of new music in store for us lately. A few months after ‘Things Will Matter’, they already dropping a EP for ‘Dust & Bones’, that includes new tracks Place Isn’t Lost and Comfortably Numb.
Here is a stripped down version of the title track, live from The Glasshouse (where they also filmed alternative versions of Diamond Days and Comfortably Numb).


9. Knocked Loose with a new track Oblivions Peak

New record ‘Laugh Tracks’, is set to be released on September 19th, through Pure Noise Records. Don’t sleep on this (Pre-orders available here.)
Oh and while we’re at it, Knocked Loose will be supporting LandscapesCounterparts and Expire on their upcoming european tour.


10. To Kill Achilles – Make Them Suffer

Make Them Suffer is the Scots’ most recent single. Have a listen, watch the video and enjoy: this is a strong one!

11. The Amity Affliction – All Fucked Up

Their new record ‘This Could Be Heartbreak’ is out this friday. New song All Fucked Up. Don’t forget that they’re touring through Europe next November/December, with Northlane, Stray From The Path and Wage War.


12. Landmarks release new EP ‘In Spite of it All’


A twisted turn of events, while recording these songs inspired Landmarks‘ new EP name. The record that marks the band’s slight shift to a more alternative rock sound, and it was just released last week, via Scylla Records. Listen to it!



– Some quality records have been released in the past few weeks, including :

  • Moose Blood – Blush [which got them into the UK album chart top 10! (Hopeless Records)]
  • Storm The Sky – Sin Will Find You (UNFD)
  • My Iron Lung – Learn To Live (Pure Noise Records)
  • The Decoy – Avalon (Debut LP)

– AND last but definitely not least, Green Day is back with a brand new song + album announcement. Listen to Bang Bang, using the following link : Green Day – Bang, Bang.


I’m Yousra, in love with most of the things that earth has to offer, and isn’t music one of its most amazing wonders ? In that purpose, I try to always be on the look-out for every new band that will make my ears happy and my soul filled again.

Leave a Reply